top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Jimenez

Finishing Strong

Updated: Mar 5


I believe I earnedthe following grades:

5317: 94 ( Publication Outline, Publication Rough Draft, Media Project)

5315: 93 (Action Research Design Outline, Literature Review, Action Research Plan) 


Overall

I had a VERY difficult time during these two classes. Not because of the content, but because of my personal life. It seems that my children took turns battling strep throat and the flu throughout the entire time. This made everything extremely difficult to concentrate on anything other than them… not to mention being a dance Director during competition season. What worked for me was being open and honest with my instructors and my collaboration group. I asked everyone if it would be okay taking an additional two days to complete assignments, and I am very thankful that everyone was so understanding. One of the changes I made was my collaboration group. This was simply a “right place right time” situation -during the hectic timeframe of me dealing with my sick children and letting my group know that I would be behind,  some of my other colleagues were reaching out for a group, and everything fell into place organically.  I am grateful for my previous group. 


My new group consisted of Robyn Payne, Tosha Jones, Mistee Cartwright and Stephanie Wells in the class. We would communicate through email, text, and had a document that we would update with our assignments. While we all contributed to the group, I did take more of a leadership role during the courses. I created the document where we posted our pieces of work, and if there was ever a moment of extreme confusion, I suggested that we should meet via Zoom. Text and email worked well, however, as students/mothers/wives/professionals, hearing each other and collaborating live seemed to get us further and on the same page quicker. 


We created a publication outline where we would write about a lesson that we wanted to share with other educators in hopes that they learned from our information. I referenced my Innovation plan in order to think about what I wanted to focus on in my future publication. We had to consider places we would like to publish our work as well and research the requirements needed. We also got feedback from our collaboration group before proceeding to our Publication Rough Draft. After creating the rough draft, we had our collaboration group peer review it using a rubric or criteria that we decided on. One of our group members created a rubric before I joined the group, and then I shared the rubric that I created when I reviewed her work. The final project that we would work on together would be the Media Project. Our group decided to create a podcast. We named in InnovatED. On our podcast we shared summaries of our publications to grasp the hearts and attention of educators that might be considering incorporating more technology into their classrooms. I created a basic script for us to follow, and we all edited it to fit to our visions and individual views. While this podcast happened at a very hectic time for me, I really enjoyed working with these ladies, and I made it through!





5315

Robyn and Tosha were also in this course with me, so we were able to meet regarding that class information as well. We started off with our Action Research Design Outline that would help us create our Action Research Plan. This plan would allow us to work backwards to find ways to implement our ideas into our learning environments. The Literature Review, which would also help establish credibility for our plans, I surely thought would be the death of me! I learned so much while creating it, but again, the timing of everything happening in my personal life was insane. Fortunately for me, this was the assignment that I asked for grace on.

Grade justification

 For my assignments, specifically, my publication rough draft, I went back to reflect on the feedback provided. I added information in the introduction paragraph of my paper that was a little more direct and I also tried to make the idea of having ePortfolios in dance and fine arts classes more desirable. I took those suggestions from my peers and our IA and revised my assignment to the best of my abilities to create my Final Draft. I also participated in all activities, read the required readings and took a leadership role in my collaboration group. I took points off for posting on a couple of discussions a little after the deadline, not posting additional responses on discussion posts, other than those required, and not attending as many live classes as I would have liked. I could also improve my APA citations. I am grateful for these classes and the lessons I have learned. 


23 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page