top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Jimenez

It's Okay to Make Mistakes When Learning Something New




I still remember being so overwhelmed and worried when beginning this ADL program. I have always been an overthinker, and looking back,  I can honestly say that I was overwhelming MYSELF. I was not used to ever having so much freedom, choice, and responsibility of my own learning. I didn’t know where to begin. I was used to always having these strict expectations of what I needed to do, and what all needed to be included. I was not prepared for this particular style of learning, so I immediately realized that I needed to adjust how I would proceed in the class. I had to manage my time better, and not be the procrastinator I was always used to being. I knew that if I wanted to get the most of this experience, I would need to allow myself time to sit and reflect. When I began creating my innovation plan, again, I was confused. I wasn’t sure that I was doing it “correctly.” With the help of my collaboration group, I got a little bit of the reassurance that I was used to. The COVA approach aligns with my innovation plan and learning philosophy. One of the main concerns that I wanted to address with my students was for them to learn to give themselves grace when learning something new. I wanted them to try. As a High School dance teacher, I realized, not only are my students nervous about making mistakes, but they also have a hard time with talking to their peers in the classroom and also have a hard time using technology in a professional manner. My drive behind my innovation plan was to address those concerns in a way that would also boost their creativity and confidence.


            This also translated to my home life with my biological children. I realized that I was projecting the same anxious outlook on learning that I grew up with. I used to be so focused on the letter grades that my children would bring home, but entirely skip over the most important questions about whether or not they are understanding the material. Being in this program helped me talk to my kids and my students in a way that would encourage them to talk to me about everything while continuing to try without fear of making mistakes.  If they didn't get this feeling anywhere else, I want them to have that feeling in my classroom. Needless to say, my attitude towards learning has changed for the better. Was this process uncomfortable? Yes. Was it necessary for the change I want to see in myself and my students? A BIGGER yes!


I will apply the COVA approach by implementing my innovation plan of using ePortfolio in my dance class. They will get full creative freedom to pick their platforms and content while having ample time to reflect and collaborate with their peers. Student will be able to post their dances, attach their projects and assignments and blog on their Eprtfolios. Students will also learn how to receive and give feedforward to each other and how to honestly reflect on their learning.

Challenges that I anticipate while trying to apply the COVA approach, will be similar to everything that I felt while going through this program. I expect them to be uncomfortable and frustrated because they want me to tell them exactly what I am looking for. I feel confident in addressing those concerns by sharing all of my experiences and feelings with them and emphasizing how to develop a growth mindset. . Most importantly, I can emphasize my favorite statement while in grad school, it’s okay to make mistakes when learning something new. 


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page