top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Jimenez

Contributions to Learning

The ADL Program as a whole, so far, has helped me think of my classroom on a deeper level.

I can’t believe I have already completed 6 courses! Time has flown by and I have learned a lot about myself, and my career choice. Reflecting on my efforts in both classes, I am proud of myself. I know that there is always room for improvement, but that’s why I am here – to learn and to grow. For both EDLD 5389 and 5313: 90 out of 100.


This was a very challenging time because COVID-19 and the Flu ran rapidly through my household. Everyone got sick at different times, making it even more challenging to juggle school, work, and family. I didn’t get to attend the live sessions as often as I wanted, but I did watch the recordings as soon as I was able to. I completed my discussions and work in a timely manner, other than when I asked for permission due to sickness, and I completed all readings. On assignments that I didn’t do as well as I liked, I went back to revise and edit per the feedback I received. I have been working with the same people since the start of the ADL program. Again, due to sickness and the craziness of this time, I wasn’t able to meet with everyone as much as I would have liked, but I did text and contribute to the collaboration document that was created earlier this year. What I would like to do better for the next courses would to develop an even more detailed schedule to keep myself from feeling extremely overwhelmed and tired.


In EDLD 5313 CSLE, we read “A New Culture of Learning: Cultivating for a World of Constant Change,” and created a response called NEW CUTURE of LEARNING. The focus was to think of how we could use what we learned and implement that information in our classrooms. The next assignment was to create a LEARNING PHILOSOPY that would require us to research and learn about the different learning theories and connect them to what style was most like ourselves. The next assignment would be creating a BHAG, Big Hairy Audacious Goal and a 3 column table. This was probably my favorite assignment because it required me to look deeper into what my class design would be. It made me think of the end goal constantly in order to make sure that my goals, assignments, and assessments were all aligned. Next was a UbD which was a plan similar to the 3 column table in the sense that you have to look at the end goal and work backwards, however, the UbD was more detailed.  A revised Growing Mindset was our last assignment. I revisted my Growth Mindset Plan from 5302 and saw areas that needed more after learning from the course. The beauty is, I know that I will continue to see revisions and additions needed as I continue to learn.


For EDLD 5389 I went back to add to my PL OUTLINE that showed what the progress for a training on using ePortfolios in the dance classroom would look like. We went on to make an even further detailed plan that included a 3 column table, UbD and slides that would show focus on what an actual training would look like.  I added more explanation to week 5 on how I will model ePortfolios in the dance classroom. I also developed a CALL TO ACTION that is intended to speak to and move the audience so that they understand why the training is needed.  One thing I would have liked to do better on is to participate I the discussions a little more and a little sooner.


Just like the other classes that I have taken simultaneously, EDLD 5313 and 5389 compliment each other. There were things(discussions, assignments, and reflections) from both classes that helped me understand information for the other. I look forward to the next courses to come!

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page