top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Jimenez

Dream Again


Part A

Why: The use of e-portfolios in the high school dance classroom will promote communication, creativity, and collaboration while tracking their learning and progress throughout the year.

How: Through training and demonstration students will see the significance of creating an e-portfolio through choice, ownership, and voice through authentic learning. (COVA)

What: E-portfolios will replace the use and need for paper artifacts of learning and will show student growth, past projects, and their authentic reflections which can be used in all content levels.


Part B


Kotter (2013) gives a tip that he feels should be addressed first when implementing change. That tip is creating a sense of urgency while reducing complacency and other negative feelings toward change. Kotter (2011) says that in we must also“ win over hearts and minds.” I feel that as educators, we tend to forget why we do the things that are important to us simply because we want to just get things done. I know that with me, I have to constantly remind myself why I do the things I do in order to keep my sanity and control over my life. The same can happen in the education system. We know how to do our jobs, but we will perform differently when we remember why we are doing it.


Like you, I want the best for my students and students everywhere. I want them to be able to look back on their learning in my classroom and be proud of how far they have come. I want them to break out of the box that social media, a quarantine, and their insecurities have trapped them in, and realize how creative, smart, and capable of creating authentic work they are. I imagine how much they will learn about others by having the opportunity to provide feed-forward to their peers using their e-portfolio, but most importantly, how much they will learn about themselves.


“A single dream is more powerful than a thousand realities.” J. R. R. Tolkien

I believe e-portfolios will empower our students to dream and believe in themselves again, despite what their realities may be or have been.


If you would like to learn more about the benefits of using e-portfolios in the dance classroom, please visit my innovation plan.


References:

Kotter, J. (2013, August 15). Leading Change: Establish a Sense of Urgency. YouTube.

Retrieved August 17, 2023, from https://youtu.be/2Yfrj2Y9IlI


Kotter, J. (2011, March 23). Dr. John Kotter - The Heart of Change. YouTube. Retrieved

August 17, 2023, from https://youtu.be/1NKti9MyAAw


TEDx Talks. (2014, June 30). Why TED Talks don’t change people’s behaviors: Tom Asacker

at TEDxCambridge 2014. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W0jTZ-GP0N4

37 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page